I’m Addicted to Snapchat

Snapchat_Logo-300x250Someone recently asked me what my favorite social media platform was, to which I quickly answered “Snapchat.” I hadn’t really thought about it much, but in the recent weeks I had become somewhat addicted. Between talking to friends through pictures and stories, I was constantly checking for new updates. So what was so addicting about snapchat?

  1. It only last 24 hours – I couldn’t miss watching a story and the thought that once 24 hours were up it was gone forever made it even more appealing. (I know that nothing is really ever completely gone – but I couldn’t access it). If I missed watching Kelly’s snapchat story of her Saturday night I would never know which stranger she met in the bathroom and took a selfie with or what late night food she ate. The lure of having only a limited amount of time to watch it made it the first social media outlet that I checked.
  2. People post their real life – Snapchat isn’t for edited pictures and catchy captions, it’s for post that you wouldn’t find on any other social media outlet. I love the look into people lives that snapchat gives you. It doesn’t just give you a look at the best pictures that they take but can show someone struggling in the library at 3 a.m. or making dinner. Snapchat allows you to connect with people over small parts of their lives, not just the best moments that they post on other social media channels.
  3. It feels like ours – By “ours” I mean people my age. Snapchat is made for people under 30 years old, and it’s nice to have a social media that our parents don’t use. Snapchat is designed for people my age and advertisers use snapchat to target our demographic. With filters and sponsored stories that are tailored to our demographic, Snapchat is the one platform that we can call ours.
I don’t see Snapchat getting less popular anytime soon and I’m sure that I will continue to use it to document small parts of my life.
Leave a Reply

