Half Way There…

IMG_1855

12 hours down….12 hours to go. Last night at 6:30 p.m. I stood up, and I wont sit back down until 6:30 p.m. tonight. Twenty-four hours of no sleep and no sitting. My feet hurt and I’m tired, but I know that it is all worth it for the cause.

I’m standing for 24 hours with Carolina For the Kids for the largest event of the year – Dance Marathon. Carolina For the Kids is the largest student-run philanthropy in North Carolina and raises huge amounts of money to support the patients and families of UNC Children’s. The funds raised by Carolina student participants go directly to help the parents and families of patients at the UNC Children’s Hospital.

Dance Marathon is hard. It leaves you exhausted and with two feet that hate you, but in the last few hours some of the children who your exhaustion and pain is helping come and you cant help but smile from ear to ear. I’m sure I will post more about that after the marathon is finished, for now I’m just focused on making it through the next 12 hours.

I could outline what I’ve done in the first twelve hours, but for the most part it’s been dancing with friends with a few interruptions for snacks and homework. The thing is, what I’m doing in these 12 hours isn’t important, what’s important is the people that it will help in the end. The people who couldn’t get to the hospital to be with their children without the gas cards we provide them with, or the people who get to eat dinner every Tuesday night and have an hour of normalcy though our Parents Night Out program. That’s what is really important in these 24 hours.

Want to play a part in helping the patients and families of UNC Children’s? DONATE HERE!

Leave a Reply

